Dr. Jo-ann Archibald recognized by ABCDE for Lifelong Service to Education

Dr. Jo-ann Archibald, professor of Educational Studies, is the recipient of ABCDE’s (the Association of BC Deans of Education) 2017 award for Lifelong Service to Education. ABCDE announced the winners of its annual awards for outstanding service to education in B.C. at the annual B.C. Teacher Education Roundtable Conference held May 11-12 at UBC.

Dr. Archibald has a long and impressive provincial, national, and international record of excellence in Aboriginal Teacher Education, and is well-known for her exceptional work with First Nations bands, teachers, and students. Dr. Archibald co-chaired ABCDE’s Task Force on Aboriginal Education, and was a key player in the preparation and adoption of a National Accord on Indigenous Education by the Association of Canadian Deans of Education. As UBC Vancouver’s Associate Dean (Indigenous Education), and the Director of NITEP (Indigenous Teacher Education Program), Dr. Archibald has worked tirelessly with others to ensure that course content and instructional methods for all new and practicing teachers include the history of Aboriginal peoples. Dr. Archibald continues to provide energetic leadership to encourage more students of Indigenous ancestry to enter the teacher profession. She also encourages university programs to work closely with First Nations communities and Elders.

The ABCDE also announced the Teacher Educator for 2017, Mr. James Alexander (Sandy) Hill of Abbotsford. Mr. Hill, an instructor in Education at the University of the Fraser Valley, Abbotsford, has provided exceptional mentoring of pre-service teachers in his work with UFV’s Teacher Education Program. Mr. Hill has also been instrumental in furthering the University’s relationships with schools in the Fraser Valley to ensure rounded, quality experiences for teacher candidates who are completing requirements for their professional teaching certificates. Mr. Hill continues to make significant and frequent contributions to his University’s programs and courses, and is viewed as a wonderful role model in his teaching and relationships with student teachers, mentors, advisors, and First Nations communities.

ABCDE award winners each receive an engraved plaque and a cheque for $500.

ABCDE initiated its annual awards program in 2005. Previous winners are listed at http://www.educ.sfu.ca/abcde/awards.html. For further information about ABCDE awards and the 2017 winners, please contact Dr. Sandra Bruneau, Executive Director, ABCDE (sandra.bruneau@gmail.com; telephone 604-224-3889).