EDST Graduate Ryan van den Berg receives 2017 Thesis Award of the CPES

EDST MA graduate Ryan van den Berg has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Thesis Award of the Canadian Philosophy of Education Society (CPES). Congratulations!

The reviewers who read Ryan’s thesis, Canadian Civic Education, Deliberative Democracy, and Dissent (December, 2016), were unanimous in assessing its strengths in argumentation, comprehensive skill in handling a wide range of literature, and originality. Ryan joins two previous EDST winners of a CPES thesis or dissertation award: Jim Bigari (PhD, 2015) and Iris Berger (EdD, 2013).

Ryan has also been selected as the Faculty of Education’s nominee for the Governor General’s Gold Medal. We will be keeping fingers crossed for the next round of adjudication!